The Czech Academy of Sciences Awards Two CERGE-EI Scientists with the Title "Doctor of Science"

20 May, 2024

CERGE-EI researchers Štěpán Jurajda and Michal Bauer have been awarded the title of DSc. by the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic.

After the amendment of the Higher Education Act at the end of 2001, the title of Doctor of Science (DrSc.) was effectively abolished. Since this limited the possibility for scientists working outside universities to obtain higher degrees than Ph.D., the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic decided to look for a way to recognise the significant scientific work and outstanding achievements of professionals engaged exclusively in research.

Since 2003, the Academy has been awarding the scientific title "Doctor of Science" (DSc.) to scientific personalities as an expression of their particularly high scientific qualifications demonstrated by the creation of original scientific works important for the development of research in a particular field and demonstrating a distinct scientific personality. The scientific title is awarded by the Academy on the basis of a decision of its Scientific Council. The title "Doctor of Science" currently represents the highest scientific qualification in the professional career of a scientist in the Czech Republic.

This year's award ceremony will take place on Wednesday 22 May, 2024 in the presence of representatives of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, representatives of the departments where the new doctors work, members of the defence committees and other guests.