CERGE Graduation Council

The CERGE Graduation Council is a body of distinguished faculty and researchers from CERGE and other institutions which regulates the doctoral study program and the organization of postgraduate study in economics. Its members are appointed, based on a proposal by the Director of CERGE, by the Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences of Charles University after the approval of the Scientific Council of the Faculty. The Chairman of the Graduation Council is appointed by the Dean. The Council is responsible, among other things, for the appointment of the selection committee, providing the Dean with a list of accepted students for final approval, and for the content and evaluation of the study program. In addition, it nominates the members of examination and dissertation defense committees, approves dissertation topics and supervisors, and appoints opponents for dissertation defenses. Finally, it provides the Dean of the Faculty with proposals for the awarding of Ph.D. in Economics degrees to students who have successfully completed the postgraduate program. The Graduation Council is currently composed of the following members:

Prof. Ing. Michal Kejak, M.A., CSc. (Chair)

Prof. Randall K. Filer, Ph.D.
City University New York

Prof. Ing. Karel Janda, M.A., Dr., Ph.D.
Institute of Economic Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University

Prof. Ing. Štěpán Jurajda, Ph.D.

Doc. RNDr. Ing. Miloš Kopa, Ph.D.
Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University

Doc. Sergey Slobodyan, Ph.D.

Prof. Jan Švejnar, Ph.D.
School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University and CERGE-EI

Doc. Ing. Zdeněk Tůma, CSc.

Prof. RNDr. Jan Ámos Víšek, CSc.
Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University

Doc. Ing. Josef Zieleniec, CSc.
New York University in Prague