CERGE Scientific Council

The Council reviews the conceptual framework of CERGE's research activities; regularly evaluates the results of research and educational activities; plays an advisory role in the distribution of financial resources, particularly for research activities; assesses the methods used to implement the doctoral study program in economics; and offers advice on other matters presented by the Director of CERGE or outlined or implied by the internal regulations of Charles University in Prague or CERGE.

The members of the Council are instituted and recalled by the Director of CERGE based on an agreement with the Academic Senate of Charles University in Prague. The members are recognized and respected practitioners of economic science. At least one third have primary affiliations outside the academic community of Charles University.

The current members of the Scientific Council are as follows:

Doc. Sergey Slobodyan, Ph.D. (Chair)

Stanislav Anatolyev, Ph.D.

Marek Kapička, Ph.D.

Prof. Jakub Kastl, Ph.D.
Princeton University

Doc. Ing. Michal Kejak, M.A., CSc.

Prof. Avner Shaked, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Economic Theory, University of Bonn

Doc. Mgr. Jakub Steiner, Ph.D.

Prof. Jan Švejnar, Ph.D.
Columbia University, and the Economics Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences

Doc. Krešimir Žigić, Ph.D.